Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Our Condolences to the Silveira Family

Gerald E. Silveira passed away early Saturday, May 10, after a long battle with cancer. He was 81.

Dean Silveira was part of Long Island University for 50 years. He taught for nearly two decades at the Brooklyn Campus, rising to the rank of professor after joining as an English instructor in 1958. He went on to fill important roles as part of the administration, serving as assistant dean of the Richard L. Conolly College of Liberal Arts and Sciences from 1977 to 1980 and then as associate dean until the present; for a period in 1985, he was acting dean of the College.

Through all this time, Dean Silveira never lost love for writing, literature and the performing arts. He also was an avid fan of the New York Times crossword puzzle, which never required more than 15 minutes for him to complete!

Gerry, as he was known to the many who enjoyed working with him at LIU, was a native of Gloucester, Massachusetts. He earned a B.A. at Boston University and an M.A. at Rutgers University, specializing in linguistics and English as a second language. He was the recipient of a Fulbright Fellowship in 1954 and a Carnegie Southern Scholarship award for 1956 to 1958.

Gerry Silveira is survived by a niece and many good friends at the Brooklyn Campus. Plans for services at the Campus will be announced after commencement.

Wednesday, May 7, 2008

End of Semester Reading: Students from English 520

The April 27th Testimonio reading ran long, and not everyone got to read, so we've scheduled a second reading so that the rest of the readers can present their work.

Please join us for this end of semester reading, featuring:

Michelle Solomon
Charles Thorne
Sri Raman
Elspeth MacDonald
and more

Wednesday, May 7, 5-6PM
Humanities Building, Fourth Floor Lounge

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Annual English Department Awards Ceremony

Please join us today at 4:00 PM in the Fourth Floor Lounge of the Humanities Building, for our annual awards ceremony, when we will present the following prizes and awards:

Excellence in English

Adynah Johnson
Kaung Set Lin
David Wheeler

Excellence in English

Jaime Barker
Omayra Cruz
Joseph Garnevicus
Sarah Kolbasowski
Jacqueline McCormick
Sophia Mavrogiannis
Cherisse Mayers
Lindsey Miller
Margot Nasti
Helen Seo
Charles Thorne

The Edward Edelman and Susanne Popper-Edelman
English Essay Prizes

Sehrash Tanveer
Best Essay in a Developmental Freshman Writing Course

Gregory Cross
Best Essay in a Freshman Writing Course

Lisa Rathod
Best Essay in a Sophomore Core Literature Course

Jonathon Kuhr
Best Essay in an Upper-Division English Course

(There is no prize this year in the category of Best Senior Seminar Paper.)

The Esther Hyneman Graduate Awards in Poetry and Fiction

Gary Parrish (Poetry)
Jessica Rogers (Fiction)

The Louis and Ann Parascandola Graduate English Award

Jaime Barker

Sunday, May 4, 2008

Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony: New Inductees

On Friday, May 2, the Omicron Zeta chapter of Sigma Tau Delta held its annual induction ceremony.

The Chapter's sponsor, English Professor Srividhya Swaminathan, opened the ceremony with her welcoming remarks, and then English Professor Sealy Gilles, Chair of English (and new Sigma Tau Delta member!) gave the keynote address. New members were inducted by current student members Kaung Set Lin and Nikki Alimonda.

The Chapter was pleased to induct the following new members:

Rodne Alteon
Alane Celeste
Omayra Cruz
Yanisha Daniel
Rony Enriquez
Sealy Gilles
Enid Hernandez
Lisa Huang
Adynah Johnson
Barbara Joseph
Sri Devi Raman
Amit Rao
Stephanie J. Scibilia
Carolyn A. Smith
Damaris Stevens
Charles Thorne