ENG 104 Introduction to Creative Writing End-of-Semester Class Reading & Celebration

Professor Felice Belle and the students of ENG 104 invite you to join
our fearless crew of creative writers for an evening of poetry, plays, short fiction and personal narratives.

Monday, May 5th , 6:30 PM

Spector Lounge
LIU Brooklyn English Department
4th Floor, Humanities Building

This event is open to the public.
Light refreshments will be served.

Add this event to your Google Calendar: 

Josh Lamore = Valedictorian!

The English Department is happy to announce that Josh Lamore, an English major, will be this year's valedictorian.

Here's the official press release from the university.

Congratulations, Josh!

Updated 22 April 2014.

SWEET IS THE CITY -- a new play by Eduardo Leanez and Patrick Horrigan

You are invited to a reading of

by Eduardo Leanez and Patrick E. Horrigan (English Department, LIU Brooklyn).

A new play about 8.3 million New Yorkers and all the [bleep] they say.

Featuring Inma Heredia, Reggie Street, Mague Brewer, Erik Schjerven, Basil Horn, and Priyank Rastogi

The reading is part of "Actors with Accents," a variety show hosted by Eduardo Leanez.  Also on the program:  songs by John Sannuto (LIU Brooklyn) and monologues by Rosalie Purvis and Iris Rose.

Friday, May 2nd
7-10pm (performance to start at 8pm)
64 East 4th St. between 2nd and 3rd Ave., 3rd floor (Teatro Circulo)
FREE! (but donations are welcome)

Like us on Facebook.

For more information, or to find out how to participate in an upcoming ACTORS WITH ACCENTS production, visit us on Facebook or e-mail actorswithaccents@aol.com.

Lewis Warsh & Peter Gizzi at the Poetry Project

Wednesday, May 7, 2014
8 PM

The Poetry Project
St. Mark's Church
131 E. 10th St.
New York City

More info

Lewis Warsh is the author of numerous volumes of poetry, fiction and autobiography, including A Place in the Sun (Spuyten Duyvil), Inseparable: Poems 1995-2005 (Granary), The Origin of the World (Creative Arts) and Touch of the Whip (Singing Horse). He is editor and publisher of United Artists Books and teaches in the MFA program in creative writing at Long Island University (Brooklyn). A party for his most recent book, One Foot Out the Door: Collected Stories (Spuyten Duyvil) will follow the reading.

Peter Gizzi has published five books of poetry in addition to a number of limited-edition chapbooks, folios, and artist books. His sixth book, In Defense of Nothing, New and Selected Poems came out in March 2014. Gizzi’s editing projects have included  o•bl├ęk: a journal of language arts, as well as several important books, such as The House That Jack Built: The Collected Lectures of Jack Spicer and My Vocabulary Did This to Me: The Collected Poetry of Jack Spicer (with Kevin Killion). Gizzi is a professor of English at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Aimee Herman Co-Teaching Workshop: "From Page to Stage"

As we announced earlier, MFA alumna Aimee Herman is working with Poetry Teachers NYC. In May, she will be co-teaching a workshop called "From Page to Stage." Three different creative writing/performance based classes will be offered. Each class will be held once a week on Sundays for three weeks, with a culminating performance of students' work during the fourth week.


Sundays, May 8, 11, 18th
2:30-4:30 PM


Saturday, May 24
6-9 PM

Shetler Studios

244 West 54th St.
12th Floor & Penthouse
Between Broadway & 8th Ave


Sigma Tau Delta Annual Induction Ceremony

The Omicron Zeta Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honors society, will hold its annual induction ceremony and dinner on April 18, 2014.

This year's inductees are as follows:

Aram Bagramyan
Kathryn Blaise Dure
Samantha Melissa Edwards
Stacy D'Cunha
Kristin Heim
Navil Infante
Christopher Iverson
Haralambos Kasapidis
Wilson Lam
Arnaldo Lazo
Matthew Mummert
Kimarlee Nguyen
Warline Norzeus
Aaron Raines
Desiree Rucker.

Note: Several chapter members have graduated or will graduate this academic year, as follows:

Justin Gioia
Joanna Gonzalez
Keeley Ibrahim
Joshua Lamore
Jacob Matkov
Evan Thomas.

Congratulations to all!