Annual Awards Ceremony / UPDATE: Winners' names added 5/6/2015

Please join us tomorrow, May 5, 2015, at 3:30, as we recognize this year's winners of the English Department's awards and prizes, including the Popper-Edelman Essay Prizes, the Excellence in English Award, the Esther Hyneman Awards in Creative Writing, and others.

After the ceremony, winners' names will be added to this post.

UPDATE: Winners are as follows.

Excellence in English Award, Undergraduate. Presented by Srividhya Swaminathan.

Stacy D'Cunha
Muzahid Mowla
Warline Norzeus
Brittany Rader

Excellence in English Award, Graduate. Presented by Srividhya Swaminathan.

Tina Barry
Harry Ewan
Christopher Iverson
Jacob Matkov

The Louis & Ann Parascandola Graduate Award. Presented by Louis Parascandola.

Christopher Iverson, "Students and the Community: The Reciprocal Benefits of Service-Learning." Thesis Advisor: Thomas Peele.

The Edward Edelman and Susanne Popper-Edelman English Essay Prizes. Presented by Michael Bokor.

Freshman Composition (English 16)
Nichia McFarlane, "Sexual Violence on College Campuses in the United States." Instructor: Kristen Hoffman

Upper Division (English 100 level and above)
Jessica Montrose, "Masked Desire in Medieval Literature." Professor: Sealy Gilles

Senior Seminar Paper (English 190)
Stacy D'Cunha, "Anti-Semitism in Medieval English Popular Literature: Dissecting Chaucer's 'The Prioress' Tale'." Professor: Sealy Gilles.

The Elaine Spielberg Award. Presented by Marilyn Boutwell.

Ernest Agyeman. Professor
: Barbara Henning

The Esther Hyneman Graduate Awards in Creative Writing. Presented by Jessica Hagedorn, Lewis Warsh, and John High.

Poetry: Sarah Kaplan Gould.
Cross-genre: Harry Ewan.
Fiction: Kimarlee Nguyen.

Add this event to your Google Calendar. 

No comments: